Have you ever wondered, is Jello gluten-free? Many others have wondered the same thing. Find out the answer to this question and more in this article all about Jello and the gluten-free diet.
Jello is a popular gelatin dessert that comes in a variety of flavors. It starts out as a powder mixture and dissolves in boiling water, making the Jello. But is this treat gluten-free?
Technically, yes, Jello is gluten-free. But there are some factors that can make it not gluten-free, so keep reading to learn all about Jello and its ingredients.
What is jello made of?
Jello’s main ingredient is gelatin. Artificial flavor, artificial colors, and artificial sweeteners are added to make jello a delicious dessert. These are not gluten-containing ingredients.
So, jello is usually a gluten-free dessert made with naturally gluten-free ingredients. It is a popular dessert served throughout the United States for lunches, potlucks, dinners, or as a random sweet treat.
Subscribe to This Vivacious Life
Receive a free e-book of Instant Pot recipes!
There are 22 different jello flavors out there. You can find many recipes that are jello desserts. For example, we have our sparkling jello cake, which is such an easy recipe.
Jell-O is also a brand, made by Kraft Heinz, which makes many treats. Their instant pudding is quite popular. One of my favorite Jell-O pudding products is the Jell-O chocolate pudding.
Is jello safe for those with celiac?
Yes and no. Those with celiac disease understand how careful they have to be when it comes to eating. Even a tiny trace of gluten can send you to the hospital, depending on the severity.
Just because jello has gluten-free ingredients does not mean it is gluten-free. Gluten products could also be produced in the same factory as jello, meaning there could be traces of gluten in the product.
So, when it comes to making and eating food, you want to make sure you see a gluten-free label on the box or ingredients label before eating. You can find these products are most grocery stores.
The FDA says that for a product to be considered “gluten-free,” there has to be less than 20 ppm gluten in a product to have that gluten-free claim. 20 ppm is the lowest level of gluten content that can be detected in foods.
When should I make jello?
Jell-O gelatin desserts are great anytime, honestly. Because there are so many flavors and colors, jello is a versatile dessert. And it requires simple ingredients, so it is great in a pinch.
I find that jello is especially great during the holiday season. We have our tasty Grinch cookies that use pistachio jello that I know you will love. Plus, we use gluten-free cake mix, so they are gluten-free.
There are many different ways to use jello in recipes. For example, there is Jell-O salad, which is usually made in a casserole dish. Jello is also used in jello shots, which are typically alcoholic, but you can make them without.
How do you make jello?
You mix the powder from the box with boiling water and stir until the powder is dissolved. It will take a couple of minutes for it really to dissolve. If you use cold water, it will take a lot longer to dissolve the powder.
Then, you will stir in the cool water to create more of the jello. This will also help it set a bit quicker. It is really important to note that jello takes a while to set.
Once it is mixed and placed in the refrigerator, it will take about 4 hours to set. You will know that it is done when you can touch it and it has a bouncy texture and will not stick to your fingers when you touch it.
It takes time to make jello, but it is definitely worth the wait. Make sure that you plan ahead if you are going to make a jello dessert.
Is Jell-O pudding gluten-free?
Yes, Jell-O pudding mix is gluten-free. There are a ton of Jell-O pudding flavors like chocolate, vanilla, banana cream, and so many more. There are no gluten ingredients found in this dessert.
Jell-O pudding comes as instant pudding or snack pack pudding, which comes pre-made. Top tip: put whipped cream or cool whip on top of your pudding for extra flavor. For more information on pudding, check our out post about gluten-free pudding.
Is jello okay for diabetics?
Sugar-free Jell-O is definitely okay for those with diabetes. Jell-O products that are not sugar free are probably not the best option for diabetics, as they contain a lot of sugar. Luckily, there are a lot of sugar-free jello flavors.
Can you put jello in the freezer?
You can put jello in the freezer for 15 minutes to allow it to chill faster, but do not let it sit there for long. If it sits any longer than 15-20 minutes, the jello will freeze. Once frozen, the jello is pretty much ruined.
THE BOTTOM LINE
Yes, jello is gluten-free. There are no gluten ingredients found in jello, as it is made up of gelatin, sugar, and preservatives. It is important to always check the ingredients list, just in case.