While farro is a delicious whole grain, it’s unfortunately contains gluten. In this post we’ll dive into what farro is and answer: is farro gluten free. Plus, some healthy gluten-free substitutes you can use in place.
What is farro?
Farro is an ancient grain that’s been around for thousands of years. Farro is a great source of fiber, whole grains, and protein, making it a healthy choice when it comes to grains.
It has a nutty flavor and a chewy texture which is why it’s a popular choice in many dishes. You can find it in Mediterranean and Italian cuisines in recipes like risotto, salads, grain bowls, etc.
Is farro gluten-free?
Unfortunately, farro is not gluten-free. It’s a type of wheat that contains gluten proteins making it unsafe for those with celiac disease, a gluten allergy, or gluten sensitivities.
Subscribe to This Vivacious Life
Receive a free e-book of Instant Pot recipes!
Gluten-free substitutes for farro
Even though farro contains gluten, you can swap it for other gluten-free alternatives. Quinoa, rice, buckwheat, cassava flour, or amaranth are great gluten-free grains that can be use instead of farro.
When baking gluten free, I like to make my own blend of gluten-free flour. It’s a combination of white rice flour, brown rice flour, tapioca starch, and potato starch for the best 1 to 1 ratio.
How to know if a product contains farro
If you see “farro,” “emmer wheat,” or “spelt” on food labels, then the product contains farro. It’s important to carefully read the ingredients as bread, cereals, snacks, or other baked goods as farro may be present.
Is farro healthy?
While farro is not suitable for those living a gluten-free lifestyle, it does have health benefits for those who can consume it. It’s a healthy whole grain that contains protein, fiber, b vitamins, and minerals. If you do not have gluten-free dietary restrictions, incorporating farro into your diet may be beneficial.
What can farro be used for?
Farro can be used as a starchy side dish, an addition to salad and even a main dish for meatless main dishes.
Does farro have less gluten than wheat?
Although farro is not gluten-free, it does have less gluten than regular wheat does. If you have a gluten sensitivity, you might be able to tolerate farro or farro flour. However, if you have a sever allergy or celiac disease, it’s best to avoid any type of farro.