Soy sauce is a pantry staple ingredient that takes dishes from ordinary to extraordinary but it can be tricky to find a good gluten free soy sauce.
If you’re someone who likes the umami flavor of soy sauce but on a gluten-free diet, you’re in the right place. Whether you like gluten free cereal or gluten free sushi, we are here to help you find the right stuff for you.
Soy sauce shouldn’t be limited to traditional Asian cuisine. It’s a versatile condiment that can enhance an unlimited number of recipes.
Whether you’re marinating chicken, whipping up dipping sauces, or even making homemade salad dressing, the savory taste of gluten-free soy sauce always enhance the recipe.
It might be surprising to find that regular soy sauce isn’t normally gluten-free considering that it’s used in so many different dishes and cuisines.
Subscribe to This Vivacious Life
Receive a free e-book of Instant Pot recipes!
If you’re someone with celiac disease, gluten allergy, or gluten intolerance, it’s important that you steer clear of traditional soy sauce.
In the past few years, there have been more and more gluten free products come on the market so it’s easy to find a delicious gluten free soy sauce.
After being diagnosed with celiac many years ago, I feel like I’ve discovered the best soy sauces available, and I’m excited to unveil my top picks for you.
We also help you determine the best gluten free crackers, gluten free candy, gluten free tortillas, gluten free pretzels and gluten free chips. As well as answer, are potatoes gluten free? And is farro gluten free? Is cornbread gluten free and is jello gluten free. Let’s jump in…
How can I identify gluten-free soy sauce at the store?
When shopping for gf soy sauce, it’s crucial to look for labels that explicitly state “gluten-free” on the packaging. It’s helpful that many brands now include gluten-free certifications to make the distinction easier.
However, it’s always a good idea review the ingredient list and allergen information.
What in soy sauce contains gluten?
Soy sauce is typically made by combining soy and wheat together and allowing the two to ferment for several days. Even though it’s not obvious, this is why most soy sauce contains gluten. The good news is that a gluten-free alternative tastes the same.
Best gluten free soy sauces
It’s also a key ingredient in this Chinese noodle casserole. It has a similar flavor to regular soy sauce, with no artificial additives, and you can find it in most grocery stores.
Kikkoman gluten-free soy sauce and La Choy soy sauce are both great certified gluten free brands that have the flavor-enhancing qualities of classic soy sauce.
How is gluten-free soy sauce made?
Traditional soy sauce is made by fermenting wheat and soy while gluten free soy sauce is made by fermenting a wheat alternative and soy. While the primary ingredient is water, companies will use corn or a rice base in place of wheat.
Soy sauce alternatives
If you can’t find a gluten free soy sauce at the grocery store, you can go with coconut aminos. Coconut aminos are a great substitute made from the sap of coconut blossoms that have the same umami flavors of soy sauce.
It’s a milder, less salty, version of soy sauce that can be used as an alternative in everyday cooking.