Halloween is all about the chills and thrills but you shouldn’t have to be scared of gluten hiding in your treats. I’m here to give you a list of the best gluten free halloween candy to make this halloween the best one yet.
When it comes to satisfying your sweet tooth on halloween, theres no shortage of gluten-free candy options. From skittles to almond joy, there are tons of different candies to chose from.
While there are tons of gluten-free halloween candies out there, it is important to double check the ingredient list as holiday candies may contain gluten.
Mini candies as well as seasonal editions can be hiding gluten even when the original candy is gluten free. So it’s important to double check!
We love using candy on our Halloween charcuterie board that we serve with our Halloween mocktails and Halloween sandwiches. Print off our Halloween activities printable and have it with these treats at our Halloween brunch.
Subscribe to This Vivacious Life
Receive a free e-book of Instant Pot recipes!
How can I tell if a candy is gluten-free?
While trick or treating, it’s important to check the wrapper if you’re unsure if a candy contains gluten and to ensure it is gluten free candy. Look for gluten-free certifications and labels on halloween night.
Another thing that comes in handy are apps like gluten-free scanner which help you identify safe candy on the spot.
Chocolate gluten free candy
Almost all of Hershey’s chocolates are gluten free including Hershey’s milk chocolate bar, dark chocolate bar, and Hershey’s kisses. Also, the mini chocolate bars are celiac safe as well. Just steer clear of the cookies and cream and crispy bars with barley malt.
Enjoy life foods is a 100% gluten-free brand that’s also tree nut free. Although their candies are not as common, you can trust that their chocolate bars, candies, and cookies are safe for those with celiac disease and other food allergies.
The classic tootsie roll and mini tootsie roll are gluten-free and safe for those with gluten allergies. On top of the classic chocolate roll, the flavored tootsie rolls are gf too but tootsie pops may contain gluten.
Most of Reese’s products are gluten-free with the exception being their seasonal Reese’s peanut butter cups. If you’re someone with a gluten intolerance, steer clear from the Reese’s pumpkins on Halloween as they contain gluten. But, normal Reese’s and mini Reese’s are gluten free.
The good news is that almost all M&M varieties are gluten-free except for the pretzel variety. Plain and peanut M&Ms are very popular around halloween time so they make a great gf halloween candy.
Is candy corn gluten-free?
While some candy corn is gluten-free, the gluten status depends on the brand. The candy itself does not contain gluten, but the manufacturing process can lead to cross contamination. Brach’s Candy Corn, as well as other name brands, are gluten-free but it’s best to double check the candy labels.
Fruity gluten-free halloween candy
If you’re not a chocolate lover, here are some fruity halloween candy options that you’re gaurenteed to love.
Most flavors of jelly belly beans are gluten free. Although, most of the packages do not have gluten-free statements so it’s best to double check the ingredients label.
Haribo, Black forest, Yumearth, and Smart Sweets offer gluten-free gummy bears that come in a wide variety of flavors. These brands also make certified gluten free gummy worms.
Sour patch kids
If you’re a fan of sour candy, sour patch kids are a great option for you. They’re considered gluten free in the United States and are a popular option during halloween.
All the smarties products, including the giant smarties pops, tropical smarties, and mega smarties are gluten free. This classic candy is one that most people run into on halloween so it’s great that they’re safe for those with celiac disease.
What candy can those with celiac disease not eat?
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, it’s crucial to avoid candies with wheat flour, barley malt, and other gluten ingredients. Here is a list of candies that are not safe for those with a gluten sensitivity. Please note that this is not a complete list.
- Kit Kats
- Kinder Bueno
- Milky Ways
- Milk Duds
- Mars Bar
- 100 Grand Candy Bars
- Reeses holiday shapes
Other gluten free halloween candy
If you didn’t find a candy you liked on the list above, don’t worry there are still more gluten-free halloween candy options. Laffy taffy, dum dums, fruit snacks, and star bursts are gluten free as well.
But again, it’s best double check the ingredients label when navigating halloween candy for gluten. It’s important to avoid gluten, but you also might find out your favorite candy is gluten-free after all!
Homemade treats like our gluten free pumpkin cupcakes are always a winner as well!